Skip Navigation Website Accessibility

CALL (630) 969-2205

Anita Ferrero

Follow me on Facebook!

About Me

My Great Grandmother taught me to crochet and embroider when I was around 8 years old. I wish I would have kept up with it or paid more attention! What a gift it is to be taught such great techniques. I continued throughout the years with many crafty things like Macramé, String Art and remember the Rug Hooking! I have recently taught myself Needle tatting (not with a shuttle) that I hope to use in my quilts.

I have always loved quilts, mostly vintage. I would buy them whenever I could. When my niece was going to have her first baby, I decided I wanted to make her a baby quilt. And this is where it all began! 4 machines (one an embroidery machine), Artistic cutter, AccuQuilt cutter and a handmade sewing table later, here I am. I absolutely love creating my quilts. I am mostly self taught and take classes to increase my techniques and learn from other quilters. I come home and sew a couple hours every night as a release from the day!

Influenced by people like Eleanor Burns and FMQ style of Angela Walters, I consider myself a definitive Vintage/Traditional style quilter. I feel that is where it all began; the styles of our predecessors are the stem of the creativity we see today. Everything from traditional blocks to the super embellished Art Quilts.

I think my most favorite quilt is my Scrappy Pineapple quilt that I just finished for the QQ Staff Challenge. I really loved the whole idea of the challenge and I was able to practice some quilting techniques with the longarm.

I work part-time at QQ one day per week. I wish I could do more but I have a full time job. I love working at the store; I have learned so much and met so many wonderful people. I really understand when a person new to the quilting world comes in the store and I am quickly reminded I started somewhere too! You really want this person to succeed and stay in the quilting world. I really love to see the quilts and the best part is I get to quilt some of them!

I grew up in Michigan, moved to Illinois when I was 13. In my previous life (before the age of 40) I was training horses, I miss this the most. My favorite trip was my trip to Canada. We visited Banff and Lake Louise. Can't wait to visit another part one day.